To My Future Self (내 미래의 자기 에게 편지 쓰기)

Two years ago almost to the day I experienced a hurricane type of storm in my life. Everything seemed to be crashing, falling, or breaking. I remember it was raining heavily as the season usually is in the summer months in Seoul. During this tumultuous time I also remember my sister emailing me an article about a young female high school student who decided to put pen to paper and write to “her  [1-year] future high school self.”

The article seemed sort of weird, but at the same time it made people actually think. It made people think about what they would like to ask their future selves if they were able to.  Upon reading this young woman’s ‘future self’ message and questions I felt compelled to write to my future (2015) self as well.  Following her same style I asked my future self roughly 18-20 questions and finished my letter by giving myself some morale support for the heartaches, sleepless nights, and lonely walks I already was experiencing and might still succumb to months down the road.

2014 mud festival.jpg
2014 Boryeong Mud Festival (보령머드축제)

To my own surprise I completely forgot to open my own letter ‘to my future self’ last year. I guess my life felt more uncertain last year, and I decided to take each day, simply day by day, instead of think about the past or about future goals that probably might have fallen through. Whatever the reason I finally remembered about my ‘my future self’ letter today.  Two years later. I find it is kind of funny that I just remembered it now. A little late, but being late is better than not showing up at all as the saying goes. So, here is an excerpt of my 2014 self to my ‘future self’ that I’d like to share with you all.

Excerpt____

 Questions (some removed) and Advice:

Dear Future Self,

Are you still interested in adopting by the time your 28?

Have you started dyeing your hair?

How is Gemini? Are you finally taking caring of him full-time?

What position are your seeking currently?

Have you attended your high school reunion yet?

Do we have a car now? (If so, what type? If not, how come?)

Have you gone back home & introduced someone nice to your family?

Are you happy?

Who do you look up to now? Who looks up to you?

Do you still draw/ sketch? What’s the last sketch you’ve made?

What inspires you? Are your dreams still an important part of your life?

What is the best thing that has happened this year?

What nightmares have you faced or are afraid of?

How many close friends remain in your life?

Questions aside, I also have a few wishes for you. I hope that you are happy, content, and dream-driven. Never give up on your goals, and do not worry about diverging, or changing your plans in order to begin new plans in your life. You certainly will have a bright future doing something you enjoy, and I bet it will be something great!

Do you still listen the Britt Nicole song “Sun is Rising”?

There is a promise for those who just hold on to see a better day.

Don’t be afraid to be alone because you always have backing support. You always did and you always will. I hope that you do not shed a tear for the hardships you faced last year. Remember the good times, only the good times that made you laugh, cry, and smile.

Don’t dwell on the past. It is not worth it. You will thrive from all of your experiences. You will succeed.

You may have experienced plenty more good times from now. I hope so. When you are ready take a chance on being happy. It is okay to carry doubts, but do not to give up on your dreams.

It’s easier to give in then to endure. My 2014 self looked for easy ways out because I was unsure if enduring was needed. But, now I can see that it is needed. Being able to endure hardships helps us grow into a stronger person. So, I hope that you continue to endure events throughout life. One at a time off course.

“Is passion a human right?” Do you recall this from memory?  I thought this phrase was funny when I first heard it after watching High Fidelity. But, now I find it to be quite true. (9/15/2014)

Your one and only self,
Sabine

 

 

 

 

*Note: All pictures posted are owned by the Yeppunshikan author, usage of these pictures without the owners consent is strictly prohibited.
One Comment Add yours

  1. I really love this!!! Passion should be a human right, my sincerest desire is to be passionate about what I do, I love that Scott Fitzgerald quote “I hope you live a life you are proud of. And if you find you are not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

