Healthy Living (건강한 살기) – Part 1

How healthy is your life?  Since I’ve been back home my diet has changed dramatically than over the last six years. Eating more heavy based carbohydrate meals I have certainly gained some weight this past year. But, I am not worried about the weight gain as much as I am about my health overall. Currently, I follow a loose but efficient diet regiment that I works well for me and follows a Caribbean, American, and Asian diet.

IMG_9082

Rice & Whole Grains.Vegetables.Light Dairy. Lean Meats or Seafood. Tropical Fruits(*that include avocados) (‘∀’●)♡ These are the basic ingredients to my meals everyday. Not abiding by any certified or recommended wellness plans I created my diet based on nutritional wellness foods that not only satisfy my palate, but provides me with much-needed vitamins, fibers, antioxidants, proteins to keep me immune system strong and my body lean.

Prior to living own and off on my own for nearly a decade I was not too focused on healthy living; and majorly ate whatever I liked regardless of meeting daily nutritional counts. However, I was not entirely unaware of healthy living. Living within a health field family(*many health field professionals on my mother’s side) many of my daily food, drink, and even desert choices were made with a health-conscious mind.

IMG_9083

Learning from our mother both my sister and I early on knew basic & essential healthy diets to follow to maintain not only a healthy diet, but a live a healthy life.  Thanks to my mother’s kitchen lessons I learned to always balance my meals with carbs, fibers, proteins, vitamins, and nutrients. I also learned through my mother the importance of eating daily meals. This, however, became one of my biggest health hurdles when I moved away from home back in 2006. Throughout most of my college, work-life, grad school, and life in Korea I maintained a busy daily schedule, which led me to reduce my daily meal in-take from the recommended three-meals-a-day to just two.  Due to my reduction in daily meals, however, I learned to fill in the gap time between my meals with healthy snacking (i.e. eating cereal/nut/grain bars, fruit, chopped salads, and drinking fluids).

Currently, I still eat just two daily meals a day. While my mother would say that this is not the best health choice to make it is not the worse health choice. In utilizing my gap time in-between meals I have made sure to consume healthy choice fillers, which in turn help boost my energy and increase my daily total vitamin, fiber, antioxidant, and protein consumption.

IMG_9084

In addition to being health conscious in eating I also have been health conscious of my BMI(*body mass index) and daily exercise routine. Up-keeping a BMI that matches a healthy body mass while exercising to keep one’s body in shape are important health choices to maintain. This year, I have started running again and participating in local 5K marathons in my goal to be fit. Running is my favored exercise routine; and a highly recommended one depending on one’s endurance, stamina, and health condition.

Maintaining both a healthy eating, healthy living & healthy exercise lifestyle is more important than some might think. If you happen to be living a healthy conscious lifestyle then good for you. If not no worries, it is never too late to start. For those who are just starting speaking with a medical professional is highly recommended due to being able to receive a thorough inner-body physical and discovering what nutrition’s you might be lacking; and finding what exercise might be suited for your own body & health.

Creating a health-geared regiment that both works and matches with your daily life are the first steps to healthy living (๑˃̵ᴗ˂̵)و

 

 

What kind of healthy lifestyle do you follow? And what healthy living tips would you like to share?

 

 

 

 

*Note: All pictures posted are owned by the Yeppunshikan author, usage of these pictures without the owners consent is strictly prohibited.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

